The Furniture Makers’ Company announces Design Guild Mark 2021 Winners

Innovation of materials and creativity remain at the forefront of British design as 27 outstanding submissions from three categories are to be awarded the coveted Design Guild Mark in 2021.

The Design Guild Mark is awarded by The Furniture Makers’ Company, the City of London livery company and charity for the furnishing industry, to drive excellence and raise the profile of British design and innovation.  It recognises the highest standards in the design of furnishings in volume production across three categories – Furniture, 2D Design and, new for the 2020/2021 intake, Lighting Design. The award is open to designers working in Britain or British designers working abroad. 

Jethro: Designed by Sarah Kay for SCP Ltd DGM 238

Each distinct category has its own jury of renowned design experts who assess the submissions against a series of criteria, including: Are the materials appropriate? Are they from sustainable sources? Does the piece/collection show new thinking? Does it solve a problem?

The winning designers – some newcomers as well as previous holders – will be celebrated at a special awards ceremony on Wednesday 2 June 2021 (1:00pm) via Instagram live.  The awarded designs – representing the domestic and contract markets – will benefit from increased industry and consumer awareness, press and social media coverage, with the designers and companies behind them also receiving enhanced brand recognition.

In addition to honouring the winners, the ceremony will include the announcement of winners of the Jonathan Hindle Prize. This additional award is presented to the most outstanding of the year’s Design Guild Mark awarded pieces and each recipient will receive a stunning trophy and a cash prize.

Fold: Designed by Samuel Wilkinson for The Conran Shop DGM 235

Due to the disruption of coronavirus, all applicants for the last two years were judged virtually via video conferencing, where designers presented their products and answered questions from the distinguished panel of judges.

Rodney McMahon, chairman of the Design Guild Mark, commented:

“This year we welcomed the Lighting Design category, with its new panel of judges and we are delighted to have expanded the scope and reach of the Guild Marks by doing so.  The three days of virtual judging were absolutely riveting, and, despite the obvious challenges, we embraced the process and achieved a very balanced and effective result.  Emboldened by this, we shall hold the Awards ceremony on Instagram in June and look forward to connecting to as wide a spectrum of designers, and their admirers, as possible.”


The Kenilworth Collection: Designed by Pierre Greenway for Pierre Greenway DGM 234

Fold: Designed by Samuel Wilkinson for The Conran Shop DGM 235

Cruz Del Sur x Disegno: Designed by Matteo Fogale for Matteo Fogale Ltd DGM 236

Rakino Collection: Designed by Tim Rundle for Morgan Contract Furniture DGM 237                    

Jethro: Designed by Sarah Kay for SCP Ltd DGM 238

Smalto Table Collection: Designed by Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby for Knoll International DGM 239

Ore Tables: Designed by Daniel Schofield for Ercol Furniture Ltd DGM 240

Corso Table + Bench: Designed by Dylan Freeth for Ercol Furniture Ltd DGM 241

Verso Cabinets: Designed by Dylan Freeth for Ercol Furniture Ltd DGM 242

Backer: Designed by Daniel Schofield for Hayche DGM 243

Assembled Collection/Stack and Chamfer: Designed by Paul Crofts for Isomi Ltd DGM 244

Lino Chair: Designed by Sam Hecht and Kim Colin for Herman Miller Ltd DGM 245

Civic Tables: Designed by Sam Hecht and Kim Colin for Herman Miller Ltd DGM 246

Folk: Designed by Luke Pearson and Tom Lloyd for Allermuir DGM 247

Kin: Designed by Luke Pearson and Tom Lloyd for Allermuir DGM 248

TO1 Cross Chair: Designed by Luke Pearson and Tom Lloyd for TAKT DGM 249

Chamfer “springleaf” Table: Designed by Ben Fowler for Yonga Mobilya/Marque Furniture DGM 250

Deco Screens: Designed by Mark Gabbertas for Gloster Furniture GmbH DGM 251

Maya: Designed by Mark Gabbertas for Gloster Furnituer GmbH DGM 252

Pi Stool: Designed by Simon Cass for Par-avion co./Skandium DGM 253

Aspect Table: Designed by Tom Rawlings for William Hands DGM 254


Identity and Strata Collection: Designed by David Irwin and Rachel Evison for Bute Fabrics DGM 255

Kit Miles Fabric Wallpaper Collection: Designed by Kit Miles for Kit Miles DGM 256

Hit the North: Designed by Drew Millward and Charlotte Raffo for The Monkey Puzzle Tree DGM 257

Oceanic: Designed by Jodie Padgett for Camira DGM 258


Introvert Extrovert: Designed by Nathanael Hunt for Haberdashery DGM 259

Simple Shade 05: Designed by Naomi Rochowski for Naomi Paul Ltd DGM 260

The Design Guild Mark is judged by a panel of leading industry professionals. Each member of the panel is from the furniture, lighting, hospitality, commercial, retail, or media industry. Judges must ensure that each submission meets the criteria of excellence in design, materials, manufacture, and function.

Chaired by Rodney McMahon, this year’s eminent judging panel were:


Joanna Biggs – Director at GA Design

Sarah Bryan – Associate at ID:SR                                     

Elliott Koehler – Creative Director at JPA Design

Jeremy Myerson – Professor of Design/ Royal College of Art                                        

Tom Pearce – Co-founder of Farrah & Pearce                               

Campbell Thompson – Head of Furniture and Lighting at The Conran Shop

Terence Woodgate – Founder of Terence Woodgate


Linzi Coppick – Design Director at Forme UK   

Daniel Hopwood – Director at Studio Hopwood

Clare Johnston – Emeritus Professor at the Royal College of Art and Textile Designer for Fashion and Interiors at Royal College of Art

Natasha Marshall – Designer and Founder of Natasha Marshall Limited

Corinne Pringle – Director at tp bennett       

Peter Thwaites – Design Director at Rapture and Wright


Simon Alderson – Co-founder of twentytwentyone

Tim Rundle – Industrial Designer and Founder of Tim Rundle Design Studio Ltd

Simon Terry – Managing Director at Anglepoise®

John Tree – Designer at Jasper Morrison

Sebastian Wrong – Design Director at Established & Sons

All judges with an interest in an entry stood aside when that entry was being considered.


About Alys Bryan

Alys is a knowledgeable design editor who is focused on instigating conversations, both online and in-person, with industry experts which challenge, educate and advance the commercial interior sector. Her training and 15 years of professional experience as a furniture designer for the commercial sector makes her uniquely placed to lead Design Insider as Editor
View all posts by Alys Bryan →